TEDx Talk: Green-Light Revolution: Your Creative Life on Your Terms


More Details »

How Dare You: The Fear and Fallout of Writing Your Truth (September 17 - online)

September 17, 2021

11 AM PDT | 12 PM MDT | 1 PM CDT | 2 PM EDT

Writing the “truth” is not just about writing. It’s about facing down the demons, the memories and the ghosts of the past, and then finding words for those moments that you lived through.

In this webinar, I’ll discuss with Linda Joy Myers what other memoirists have done to cope with these challenges.


More Details »

Tri-Valley Writers 2021 Conference (October 16)

Four Points by Sheraton in Pleasanton, CA
Full day event: $150

I’ll be teaching a class about memoir at this year’s Tri-Valley Writers Conference. Would love to see you there.


More Details »

Her Spirit Women’s Writing Retreat in Santa Fe, NM - in person (October 24-28)

October 24 – 28, 2021

An in-person retreat at La Fonda Hotel, Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Take advantage of early-bird pricing through July 15!


More Details »

Women’s Stories - A Panel of She Writes Press Authors (October 30 - in person)

11am at Book Passage Corte Madera

In this panel, three memoirists will speak about the value of personal story to heal, transform, support, and inspire. They’ll speak about wisdom, creativity, and resilience in the writing process, and why their stories emerged in the memoir form. This will be a panel that speaks to what drives us to create, what barriers we face when we do so, and what we learn in the process about ourselves and the world around us. The authors— Francine Falk-Allen, Rachel Michelberg, and Carolyn Lee Arnold—are all published on She Writes Press, a Bay Area independent publisher of women writers, moderated by their publisher, Brooke Warner.


More Details »

Women Writing Memoir - ONLINE (6 Mondays, Oct 4-Nov 8 with expert teachers)

6 Mondays: 10/4, 10/11, 10/18, 10/25, 11/1, 11/8 4pm Pacific | 7pm Eastern

6 Weeks, 6 teachers:
• Piper Kerman
• Elizabeth Nyamayaro
• Nadia Bolz-Weber
• Firoozeh Dumas
• Gina Frangello
• Lilly Dancyger

If you’re a woman writing memoir, you’re part of a growing movement. Come see what it’s all about!


More Details »

Feminist Foundations Book Club - ONLINE (Jan-April 2022, once a month)

Second Tuesday of Each Month (January – April 2022)
11am Pacific | 2pm Eastern

• January 10th:
Moments of Being
(1907-1936, published posthumously in 1972), by Virginia Woolf

• February 8th:
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
(1969), by Maya Angelou

• March 8th:
Fear of Flying
(1973), by Erica Jong

• April 12:
The Woman Warrior
(1976), by Maxine Hong Kingston

Join Brooke and Linda Joy Myers (National Association of Memoir Writers) to explore these four foundational memoirs that have influenced so many contemporary memoirists. One book discussion each month.


More Details »

What It Takes to Finish a Book - in person (January 8, 2022)

What It Takes to Finish a Book

Presentation for the CWC Mt. Diablo branch. More details to come!


More Details »
Close